Hello everyone! I hope you spent a great Christmas and great winter holidays as I did.  I spent some days at the seaside and relaxed a lot,  since the last half of 2010  has been a very busy, busy time. That’s also the reason I didn’t update the blog for the last er… let’s say, six months?

Firstly, I took an internship at Volumina, a Turin-based communication and graphics agency this summer and it was an awarding experience. Not only I’ve learned some tricks of the trade but  I  also made great friends on the workplace and had the chance to know more about culture and history of my area,  since the main task of Volumina is promoting cultural events at the Royal Palace in Venaria Reale. If you’re interested, you can take a look to their website (which I partly renewed this summer).

After that, I worked hard on the internship essay and studied frantically in order to pass the last exam until the bachelor, which was, no need to say, a huge FAIL.😦

Now I’m following a Blender group project and jeez, that’s addictive, I could spend hours in front of the screen tweaking little vertexes, as 3D-modeling is definitely my dream job. We should end up with a close replica of a real life baroque tiny room and then use it as the background of a game;  it’s an ambitious project with tight deadlines, but that makes me even more determined. Here’s a sneak peak of part of the ceiling (please note it’s a low-vert mesh):

*brags* *brags* *brags*

So, I assume I’ll be pretty messed up until roughly february (which is when our deadline is).

In the new year intention list one of the the points was “writing some friggin’ post for my blog“, but I’m afraid I won’t be be able to do it until some time, ‘cause I want to follow each step and give you my actual experience and tips about the dishes instead of simply redirecting to a recipe repository ad I did when I started this blog for an academic project. We were asked to pick an issue which could be everything, from criminal profiling to indie music and political satire, and start a theme blog about that. I choose cooking, but I didn’t want this blog to be just another plain boring site with no twist, so I ended up with the idea of explaining uncommon taste and food traditions. Despite that, having to post at least 4 entries per week, the whole thing was quite shabby and, er… “basic”.

I was tempted to shutdown Le cucine degli altri for ever, but every now and then I saw the WP stats and noticed that lots of people from all over the world searched for ethnic food recipes or trivia about romanian culture and stuff, so that gave me the reason for a fresh start of this space, with a whole lot of changes😀

First of all, I’m gonna publish entries both in english and italian, in order to meet a larger audience. I was a bit reluctant at first, as my english is a bit flawed by  mothertongue idioms, but this could be a good occasion for improving my skills. I hope in some months I’ll be able to write without checking every now and then words on WordReference (LOL!).  As you like it, I could also write in french, and, if I’m very, very, very courageous (or drunk) I could even write down some lines in romanian🙂.

The second and not less important change is a series of posts aimed to explain to foreigners how REAL italian food is prepared. No more sticky pasta or  dairy-clogged carbonaras ;P with me. I’ll talk about exactly about what goes on in my kitchen usually, and by extension, in the other kitchens of the Peninsula (quite ambitious, yep).

The last but not least change, and which I’m not sure of, is the arrival of a new room for my other great passion: graphics. I’d like to discuss now and then artists that I like, 2d and 3d software, news and common issues… Let’s assume I’ve built a virtual kitchen, now i feel like it’s high time to add a virtual workroom, and, as in the last weeks i developed an insane passion for nail art and stamping, (I guess this lovely girl and her manis are to blame, LOL) maybe also a virtual nailpolish stash😀

So, I’d like to tell you brb, and thank you for all the support and comments you gave me. I hope 2011 will be a great year for you all.

Love,


Ciao a tutti! Avete passato un felice Natale? Spero di sì. Io ho passato qualche giorno al mare e finalmente ho potuto rilassarmi un po’ dopo questa ultima frenetica metà del 2010. I miei numerosi impegni sono il motivo per il quale non aggiorno più il blog da… uhm, sei mesi?

Quest’estate ho seguito il tirocinio curricolare del terzo anno di studi presso Volumina, ed è stata un’esperienza preziosissima: non solo ho imparato i trucchi del mestiere di grafico, ma ho trovato dei nuovi amici e ho avuto l’occasione di seguire da una posizione privilegiata la vita culturale torinese perché Volumina, oltre a essere una casa editrice di libri unici nel loro genere, è anche l’ufficio che cura la comunicazione grafica della Reggia di Venaria.  Se la cosa vi inziga, li potete conoscere meglio qui (il sito l’ho rinnovato in parte io. ;D)

Dopo aver finito il tirocinio, ho sgobbato sulla monografia finale e ho studiato come una pazza per l’ultimo esame prima della laurea…che ovviamente è stato una ciofecona unica.😦

Invece in questo momento sono presa da un progetto di gruppo realizzato con blender, ed è una droga. Fosse per me starei ore davanti al pc a ritoccare ogni singolo verticillo, un giorno sarebbe proprio il lavoro che fa per me😀. L’obiettivo è quello di ricostruire una stanza barocca realmente esistente, e di usarla come sfondo per un videogame; è un progetto ambizioso con una scadenza ancor più proibitiva, ma questo non fa che stimolarmi. Ecco un’anteprima di quello che dovrebbe essere un fregio del soffitto (la modellazione ha un numero di vertici ridotto all’essenziale):

 

Così mi sa che ne avrò più o meno fino a febbraio, che poi è la nostra scadenza.

Uno dei miei propositi per l’Anno nuovo era quello di scrivere uno striminzito post per il blog, ma temo che non ci riuscirò per un po’.Voglio filmare ogni passo delle ricette che vi propongo, e fornire la mia esperienza e i miei trucchi, ma per questo ci vuole del tempo.

La verità è che questo blog è nato per un progetto accademico di blogwriting. Abbiamo dovuto scegliere un argomento tra i più disparati e farci un blog monotematico; io ho scelto la cucina, ma visto che non volevo che questo diventasse il solito noiosissimo sito con ricette sciatte e una presentazione ancor più sciatta, ho tirato fuori l’idea di parlare di cucina insolita e tendenze lontane, argomenti che mi stuzzicano molto. E tuttavia le scadenze erano stringenti, si doveva tirar fuori quattro post settimanali e per questo a volte il blog è diventato sì sciatto.

Ero sul punto di abbandonare al suo destino Le cucine degli altri, ma poi ogni tanto guardavo le statistiche e vedevo che un sacco di gente veniva qui a cercare ricette esotiche o informazioni sulla cultura romena o altro; questo mi ha dato la voglia di far ripartire questo blog, con un bel po’ di cambiamenti però.

Il primo è, come avranno già notato gli aficionados, è che posterò sia in italiano che in inglese, per venire incontro a un pubblico internazionale. All’inizio l’idea di usare anche l’inglese non mi sconfinferava, visto che ho un inglese piuttosto tendente a scivolare nelle costruzioni tipiche dell’italiano, ma penso che sia un’ottima sfida per migliorarmi. Su richiesta posso scrivere in francese, e se sono proprio molto, molto, molto in vena (o ciucca) potrei anche provare a buttar giù qualcosa in rumeno.🙂

Il secondo cambiamento è una nuova serie di post che spieghino agli stranieri come è DAVVERO la cucina italiana. Non ne posso più di vedere spaghetti scotti, o carbonare piene di panna! Voglio mostrare come mangio ogni giorno, e per estensione, come mangiamo noi abitualmente (ehssì, sono ambiziosa).

Last but not least, sto considerando se includere uno spazio per l’altra mia grande passione: la grafica. Mi piacerebbe discutere con voi dei programmi dedicati, delle news, degli artisti… Diciamo che, se mi sono costruita come una cucina virtuale, ora voglio farmi anche uno studio virtuale. E magari, visto che ultimamente mi  è venuta l’insana mania di pasticciarmi le unghie e stampinarmele (tutta colpa tua, mannaggia!!) ci metto pure il mio cassettino degli smalti😀

Tornerò presto! Vorrei proprio dirvi grazie, grazie per i commenti che mi avete lasciato e per l’attenzione che mi concedete. E speriamo che questo 2011 sia un anno foriero di grandi cose per tutti voi.

Con affetto,